‘Wish’ and flick

I admit I’ve wished for bottled genies and wishing rings
And I’ve tossed coins in fountains and wishing wells
Prayed hard in front of temple doors
Under shooting stars and sometimes under planes and satellites too.

Because how I’ve wished to be
One of those wishing stars, bright and rare
Or at the least, keep them in my eyes
Be that starry eyed girl
A daydreamer, wonderer, thinker
Wishing verses to come in easy
Like 1-2-3
Wishing my fingers had magic
For verses, not curses
Weaving tapestries of words, intricate, delicate
Ceaselessly
Because these verses break the inhibitions away from me
Because I wish to break free
From the shackles of my own mind
Be like a dandelion floret, fluttering to infinity.
Carefree…

Yet sometimes I feel, seldom do wishes come true
Except in fairytales
And I wish there were no such things as wishes
And their false hopes, like broken promises and open eyed kisses.
But still I wish
I wish wishful thinkings were true
Or that wishes fell in love with me too.
And I still wish

For bottled genies and wishing rings
And I still toss coins in fountains and wishing wells
Pray hard in front of temple doors
Under shooting stars and sometimes under planes and satellites too.

Because I have nothing to lose
I have nothing to lose.

#eleven11poetrychallenge (Day 4: 11 wishes)

Leave a Reply

